Festival Poster



The Fest

The inaugural Oak Cliff Film Festival took place at the historic Texas Theatre, the Kessler Theater, the Bishop Arts Theater, and the Belmont Hotel during the week of June 14-17th, 2012.

The film festival featured the very best of Oak Cliff’s theater venues, as well as the popular restaurants and bars of the burgeoning Bishop Arts District. Led by the Aviation Cinemas team, who took over operations at the Texas Theatre in December of 2010, the inaugural Oak Cliff Film Festival showcased “brave and independent filmmaking of all stripes” from Oak Cliff, Dallas, Denton, Austin, Fort Worth, and beyond.

  • ­ Bonnie & Clyde filmmaker excursion, a private tour featuring historic Oak Cliff sites related to the nefarious
  • duo.
  • ­ My Education ­Live Score to Murnau’s Sunrise
  • ­ 35mm print ­(the only one in existence)­ of Love and a .45 with CM Talkington and Rory Cochrane. ­
  • Special outdoor screening of Fantastic Mr. Fox at the Dallas Zoo. ­
  • Other 35mm prints included Bela Tarr’s The Turin Horse, The Ghastly Love of Johnny X, Juke Joint, and Red Balloon.
  • Notable guests: CM Talkington, Rory Cochrane, producer Mike S. Ryan, and filmmaker Bradley Beesley.


The narrative features jury included Bryan Poysner, a two-time Independent Spirit Award nominee, whose sophomore feature Lovers of Hate premiered at Sundance in 2010 and Dennis Bishop, creator and program director of the KD College Motion Picture Production Program, former VP of Production at HBO Pictures, and previously a resource advisor for the Sundance Institute. The documentary features jury included Austin-based filmmaker and producer Bradley Beesley, whose long career directing documentaries includes runs at SXSW, Sundance, and on HBO and boasts a close working relationship with Wayne Coyne and The Flaming Lips and David Hartstein, who has produced and directed numerous films (Along Came Kinky: Jewboy for Governor, The Happy Poet, and Where Soldiers Come From) that have played at SXSW, the Venice Film Festival, and Los Angeles film festival. Hartstein is also a lecturer in documentary filmmaking at The University of Texas at Austin where he has been teaching since 2006.

The Shorts juries included Dallas VideoFest programmer and award-winning filmmaker Daniel Laabs (8); Steve Norwood, Director of Programming for the Asian Film Festival of Dallas; Eric Jewel; Dallas-based independent curator and artist Cynthia Mulcahy; Mike Mazurek, who teaches design and sculpture at UTA and co-founded the Dallas Biennial; Texas filmmaker and actor Frank Mosley, who has served as a panelist for borth the Lone Star International Film and Dallas Video Festivals; and Ya’Ke Smith, whose films have screened at numerous festivals, including Cannes and networks including HBO, Showtime, and BET.

OCFF 2012’s music video jury included Audra Schroeder, the music editor at the Dallas Observer and Pete Freedman, who has been published in Spin, LA Weekly, Village Voice, The Miami Herald, and many more.


Narrative Feature Competition

Best Narrative Feature: “The Comedy” by Rick Alverson


Documentary Feature Competition

Best Documentary Feature: “Jeff” by Chris James Thompson


Shorts Competition

Best Narrative Short: “What Happens When Robert Leaves the Room” by Zack Godshall

Best Student Short: “My Lymphoma Year” by Tony Wynn

Best Community Short: “Odds or Evens” by Jay Gormley

Best Music Video: Mindspider’s “Wait For Us”

Best Cinema 16 Short: “Brute Force” by Ben Steinbauer