Festival Poster



The Fest

The 2015 Oak Cliff Film Festival took its inspiration from the No-Wave movement of the late 70’s that took root in New York City before spreading throughout the world. The do-it-yourself mentality embodied by artists of that generation parallels contemporary filmmaking by rejecting tradition and challenging the accepted rules for storytelling. Our 4th annual OCFF took place from June 11-14, 2015 and, as always, featured the historic Texas Theatre, Kessler Theater, Bishop Arts Theater, and other venues in north Oak Cliff.


  • Screened Entertainment with a full, live set from Neil Hamburger immediately following (his fourth visit to the Texas Theatre).
  • Screened a rare 16mm retrospective of visiting filmmaker Nick Zedd, an important figure in the No-Wave movement who’s known in the underground for his “Cinema of Transgression” manifesto.
  • Live performance from The Sonics.
  • Other 35mm prints included Rock n’ Roll High School and Permanent Vacation.
  • Notable guests: Nick Zedd, Gregg Turkington (Neil Hamburger), Christian Gaines (former director of festivals at AFI), Whitney Mallett (Filmmaker Magazine), Don R. Lewis (Hammer 2 Nail).


The 2015 jury included Augustine Frizzell, a Dallas-based filmmaker and actress whose debut short film (I Was a Teenage Girl) played SXSW, Maryland Film Fest, OUTFEST, and many more; Christian Gaines, a former Administrative Director of Festival du Cannes, programmer at Sundance, and Director of Festivals at AFI as well as a key mover in the global expansion of Withoutabox.com; Norry Niven, an international commercial director and director of the feature film From Above, which was recognized with awards at over 27 festivals; Liz Franke, an actress, writer, director, producer, and editor from Dallas, Texas who has made six features and one short film with her production company Hungry Bear; former Executive Director of the Video Association of Dallas (aka Videofest) and producer at AMS Pictures, Laure Neitzel; Joe Dishner, a 30-year industry veteran who has worked as a Producer, Line Producer, Unit Production Manager and Consultant for independent film and television projects, including The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003); Casey Gooden, producer of Upstream Color and numerous short films and long-time collaborator with Shane Carruth; Some Beasts director Cameron Bruce Nelson, who is a 2014 IFP Narrative Labs Fellow, writer, director, and producer and programmer at VideoFest; Blair Rowan, a Dallas, TX-based filmmaker whose credits include feature-length horror-comedy Blood on the Highway; and  award-winning independent film and video producer, director, editor, and educator Barton Weiss.


Narrative Feature Competition

Best Narrative Feature: Christmas, Again, by Charles Poekel

Special Jury Prize Mention: Funny Bunny, by Alison Bagnall


Documentary Feature Competition

Best Documentary Feature: 20 Years of Madness, by Jerry White, Jr.

Special Jury Mention: Danny Says, by Brendan Toller


Shorts Competition

Best Narrative Short: Blissful Banquet, by Harrison Atkins

Honorable Mention: Son, by Judd Myers

Best Documentary Short: Unmappable, by Diane Hodson and Jasmine Luoma

Honorable Mention: Pattern for Survival, by Kelly Sears

Best Student Short: Leaves on Trees, by Nathan Duncan


The Oak Cliff Film Festival Filmmakers Grant sponsored by the Dallas Producers Association

Cash award recipients:


1985, by Yen Tan

Parthenon, by Frank Mosley